Thank-you for visiting! This site provides coverage and results for every Alaska state tournament held for the Little League Baseball division (10-12 years old) since the tournament was first held in 1960.


This is not the official Little League Baseball website. We are not affiliated with Little League Baseball Incorporated, its international headquarters, or any chartered league. Little League Baseball has not in any way endorsed this site or its content.

"Little League Baseball" and "Little League" are registered trademarks of Little League Baseball, Inc., Williamsport, PA 17701, and are used here for identification purposes only. If you're looking for the official Little League Baseball home page, click here. Links to web sites for many individual leagues and districts can be found in the links section of this site.

What's New

(June 2024) -- We have begun our coverage of the 2024 Alaska state tournament -- click for details. If you can provide results or pairings for Alaska district tournaments that are not listed on this site, please contact the Unpage.

Our coverage of the Alaska state tournament launched on May 26, 2014. Click to contact the webmaster with any comments or questions about this page.

The Alaska State Tournament

Though Alaska's summers are short and cool relative to those in the Lower 48 states, Little League Baseball has thrived in the state since the first Alaskan leagues were formed in the early 1950s. During this era, Alaska's district champion faced a tournament progression that involved working its way down the coast, first competing against a series of British Columbia district champions, and if successful, then advancing to a divisional tournament against leagues from the Pacific Northwest. Travel considerations were a paramount factor -- as they continue to be today for Alaskan leagues -- as travel between Anchorage and outposts in Southeast Alaska involves either flights or a 21-hour driving/ferry combination. Because of this, Alaskan tournaments typically start much later in July than in other states, and leagues needing to travel outside of their district for games do not return home until their entire tournament run is complete. At times, this has meant 2-3 weeks on the road once district competition is complete for a league that then advanced beyond state tournament competition.

Alaska held state tournaments outside the confines of the international tournament in the late 1950s, and their first annual state tournament that tracked toward the Little League World Series was held in 1960. Thirteen leagues traveled to Ladd Air Force Base in Fairbanks for that initial tournament, and in early editions, all Alaskan participants in the tournament traveled to the state tournament. Later, districts were formed in the Anchorage, Fairbanks, and Juneau areas, and only the district champions travelled to the state tournament.

Today, Alaska has two districts -- one in Anchorage and one in Southeastern Alaska -- and these two district champions meet in a playoff series that determines the state's champion. The Alaska champion advances to the Northwest Region tournament in San Bernardino, California, where they compete for the right to advance to the Little League World Series.

No Alaska league has ever qualified for the Little League World Series. Anchorage's Dimond-West Little League has twice recorded the state's best-ever finish by reaching region championship games in 2006 and 2023. In 2016, Dimond-West fell, 5-4 in seven innings, to Murrayhill Little League (Beaverton, Oregon) in the Northwest Region championship game, and in 2023, Dimond-West was runner-up to Northeast Seattle (Washington) Little League in teh Northwest Region tournament.

Click to view a timeline showing the evolution of the Alaska Little League tournament structure.

Unpage National and Region Tournament Sites

Australian Region Mid-Atlantic Region Northwest Region
Canadian Region Midwest Region Southeast Region
Great Lakes Region Mountain Region Southwest Region
Japanese Region New England Region West Region
Metro Region

Unpage State and Provincial Tournament Sites

Alabama Illinois New Mexico
Alaska Indiana New York
Arizona Iowa North Carolina NEW FOR 2024!
British Columbia Kansas Ontario
California (Northern) Maine Oregon
California (Southern) Maryland Pennsylvania
Colorado Massachusetts Rhode Island
Connecticut Michigan Texas (East and West)
Delaware Minnesota Vermont
District of Columbia Montana Virginia NEW FOR 2024!
Florida Nevada Washington
Georgia New Hampshire NEW FOR 2024! Wisconsin
Hawaii New Jersey Wyoming

Unpage Region Tournament Sites (1957-2000)

Central Region Southern Region Western Region
Eastern Region

Unpage Region Tournament Sites (1949-1956)

Region 1 Region 4 Region 7
Region 2 Region 5 Region 8
Region 3 Region 6


Links to tournament coverage

The Unpage brings you unprecedented tournament coverage.
Thank-you for visiting Unpage Publications!
Contact the Unpage.
Copyright © 2024, Four Six Three LLC. All rights reserved.